Tough Times Ahead

Uh-oh, ladies and gentlemen.  There are tough times ahead for the Snethen Household.  Our stash of Newman’s Own Mango Salsa is steadily dwindling!

We discovered this little Delight in a Jar shortly after arriving on island.  In fact, Tony only picked it up because at $4.50 it was at least $2 less than the other salsas that were available, and all profits go to charity.  It’s a win-win!  Since then it’s become a staple in our diet.  A few months ago we bought out the supply at both the Road Town and the Soper’s Hole Riteways.  Each trip to the grocery store brings us to the chip aisle in desperate hope that they’ll have received another shipment.  But alas, utter disappointment!

I guess it’s a pretty good life, when  not having your favourite salsa is enough to ruin your trip to the grocery store.  Perhaps I’ll try to make my own… Anyone have a good mango salsa recipe they’d be willing to share?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tough Times Ahead

  1. pam mcnicoll says:

    Jan made me some for Christmas! Delicious!! AND of course – there’s always Katherine’s – it WILL be hot enough for Tony!!!
    Love-Mom

    • Barbara DeJardin says:

      Lindy! I always look forward to your posts. I am so sorry for the predicament you are in regarding the salsa. Wish I could help. I must say, however, that I am most disappointed that the only picture you posted was that of a jar of salsa. Do you have any more pictures of the scenery of the BVI, yourselves, yourselves outside in the sunshine and palm trees? Thank you! Auntie Barbara DeJardin, from cold (but sunny!) Green Bay, Wisconsin

  2. Amy says:

    Lindy and Tony,

    Pease accept my condolences during this difficult time. You are strong and I know you will get through this. Just remember the good times you & Salsa had (likely you more than the salsa). I kind of know what you are going through…one time I had a box of chocolates and when I ate the last piece I felt vast emptiness. But also fullness because it was caramel filled & I ate like, 5 of them at once.

    Thinking of you, your quickly disappearing salsa, and your damn tan,
    Amy
    PS I bought the Newman’s Pineapple Salsa and it was amaaazing!

  3. Nancy Kline says:

    Lindy, Hen House in Olathe has Newman’s peach salsa. Same ingredients as your mango just using peach. Do your stores carry the peach salsa? You could purchase a mango and chop it up and put it in the peach salsa. What do you think? If you can’t find Newman’s peach salsa in Tortola, I’ll get a couple of jars from Hen House and try to pack them in our carry on luggage with the snorkel gear when we come to BVI in two weeks. Nancy K.

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Nancy. If they start carrying it, we’ll definitely try the peach. That’s just how things are down here- there today, then gone for good. I’m glad we took Kathy’s advice and stocked up when we did. I have found a recipe that looks good, but am holding out hope that we won’t need it! : )

      Looking forward to seeing you in a couple weeks!

Leave a Reply

