En Route

Monday was travel day!  Since Cedar purchased us a roundtrip ticket when we arrived (we had to have a return in order to be allowed into the country initially) and it would expire in August, I used my ticket to get home this week.  That allowed me to fly out of Beef Island!  The Beef Island airport is actually very nice.  You can tell everything is pretty new.  It’s clean and airy, with tall, sloped ceilings.  As we admired the open space while waiting in line, we noticed the massive fans hanging from the ceiling.

I’m not kidding, each of those fan blades is probably 6 feet long!  That wasn’t the exciting part though – look at the name of those fans!

Tony just couldn’t resist a photo!

Flying out of Beef Island made for an incredible view.  We took off to the Southeast and circled around to head Northwest.  This photo shows Scrub Island, Great Camanoe, and Marina Cay.

We were just at the cloud level when we came around to the North side of Tortola.  You can see Road Town there on the other side of the mountain.

There were islands along almost the whole route to Puerto Rico, my first connection.  Flying over Puerto Rico was really beautiful – there was all this flat land filled with development, rising up to huge mountains in the background.  And it was so big!  The land stretched on further than I could see!  It really made me realize just how small Tortola is.

The photo didn’t turn out so well, but I’ll try to get some more when I am back in Puerto Rico next week.

Re-entering the US was really easy and the Customs/Immigration people were friendly enough…. Though it didn’t feel like the US since everything was in Spanish!

From there I flew to Dallas. It was a long, but thankfully uneventful, flight. Along the way, as I checked my watch for the 50th time, I counted myself lucky that I would be able to reach my destination in just one day.  I thought of Clint and Michelle who travel 2-3 days to make it back to South Africa!

In Dallas I got some fast food!  Oh Taco Bell, you tasted so good after 8 months!

Then it was time for my last flight, off to Kansas City.  When I walked out of the gate Mom was there to greet me!

I’m happy to report that I’ve arrived safely in Olathe and have already been excited about the tap water, the internet speeds, and the utter lack of rust!  I’m looking forward to a great week of time with people I care about, shopping, and eating!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to En Route

  1. beth says:

    Lindy, have a wonderful time with friends and family. welcome back! Happy Easter, wish I was there! Love you. What AWESOME photos!!

  2. Nancy Clewell says:

    Welcome home!

Leave a Reply

