Home Alone

Tony was off island this week, back on the mainland USA.  Unfortunately, he went home for a sad reason.  A close family friend (Aunt Peggy) passed away last week and Tony went back for the funeral. : (  We feel very blessed that it is relatively easy for us to make it back for things like this, as not all of our friends are so fortunate.

Tony left last Wednesday (our actual anniversary date – so glad we had last weekend to celebrate!) and this was the first time I’d been home alone overnight since arriving here on Tortola!  The first thing I did on my way home from work that evening was stop off at the store for a big spray can of Insect Killer (there was an incident not too long ago with a massive roach in our sink… who knew it was already dead?!  Anyway, I wanted to be prepare this time.) and some of the foods Tony doesn’t like to eat!

Now I don’t generally like being alone, so I kept myself busy surfing the net, watching a sappy movie or two and getting a little crafty.   I’ve been really into these fabric flowers lately, so I made a few more of them.  Each one has velcro on the back so they can turn into a pin, headband, or clip.

I also worked on a new pair of flip flops.  The blue ones I did a couple weeks ago.

The biggest task was saved for today though.  Some of you may remember that Tony’s Groom’s Cake was never delivered on our wedding day.  Somewhat in protest, mostly because he was busy, he didn’t eat any cake that day!  So, each year on our anniversary I present Tony with a cake.  This year, for the first and probably last time, I decided to make and decorate the cake myself.  Joyce, it’s certainly not up to your caliber, and I don’t think I’ll be quitting my day job anytime soon, but I’m pretty proud of it!

The cake we’d ordered for Tony for the big day was supposed to be modeled after this hole on the Pebble Beach golf course.

Not to shabby, huh?  I even crunched up some of Tony’s Cocoa Puffs to add texture to the cliffs.

Now Tony is home again, and hopefully we’ll both be here for awhile!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Alone

  1. Nancy Kline says:

    Lindy, I am so impressed with your cake! I think the flip flops are cute, also. Nancy K.

  2. beth and bob says:

    wow you are amazing! i love the flips and flowers! the cake is absolutly amazing. sorry for tonys loss, but glad he’s back safely. love you both!

  3. Heidi Peterson says:

    Lindy I’m so impressed! I hate it that I missed you while you were in town, but I love reading about all your adventures!

    • Thanks Heidi! I’m bummed I missed you as well! I thought 8 days at home would be enough, but there was so much I didn’t get to do. : ( I hope you’re well, and I thought of you on our shared wedding anniversaries!

Leave a Reply

