House Tour

We are now all moved in and everything is up on the walls, so I’m ready to give you a house tour!

This is the view when you first walk in through our front door.

Here’s another view of the living room, this time looking from the from that wall with the green and blue canvasses on it. That’s the front door on the left and the guest bedroom door on the right.

Here are a few views of the guest bedroom.

We brought that duvet cover with us and had it in our last place, but in our bedroom. Since we’ve now upgraded to a King, this bedspread looks great in the guest room.

I was surprised to find these burlap curtains when we moved in.  Before everything was very loud, very old, caribbean shirt kind of print, but the burlap and ribbon goes great with the duvet!

That’s the TP roll art I made in the last house!

Each of the bedrooms has the wall of storage – shelves, closets, and cabinets, along with the mirrored doors.

This bedroom also has its own bathroom off to the right.

Back out in the main room, here is a view of the kitchen.

Look at that full size refrigerator, and a double sink! Already, this kitchen has made cooking and cleaning much easier… not to mention all those cabinets to put things in! No storing food out in the open anymore!

Back left of the refrigerator is the door to our bathroom, then the door to our bedroom.  Here’s a view from the door.

This room had the burlap curtains as well, but I’d already had mom bring some cheap ones from WalMart, thinking I’d have Ugly Caribbean as my decor motif. We decided to put them up anyway. The throw pillows actually came from the couches in the living room, but there were A LOT of them, so I whipped up some no-sew pillow covers to dress up the bed.

I ordered this duvet cover and  sheets sets on Ebay for a stellar price!

Here’s another view of the bedroom from the other side.  I love that dresser – so much space!

One of the most used spaces in the house is the front porch!  You walk out the french doors in the living room in order to get there.

 We’re so glad to have a covered porch this time around so we can use it more during the day!

Well, that’s pretty much the house, so I’ll also highlight a few of the crafty things I’ve been up to.

 

I saw something like this  on Pinterest a long time ago, so when these old tarnished plates were up for grabs post Cedar Car Boot (trunk) Sale, I nabbed them! A little spray paint, a fancy candle stick, and some hot glue!

Voila!

 

 

I decided to make flowered curtain tie-backs like this one and found this great tutorial on paper peonies.  A few substitutions (fabric for paper and thread for floral wire) and we were good to go!

 

 

This artwork was made after seeing this pin, and didn’t work out the way I thought it would, but I like it.

The original poster says not to use Elmer’s Glue, but I didn’t have any puff paint, so I used it anyway.  Then I mixed up my tempera paint and added some water to make it a wash.  I like how the colour sticks to the glue and is stronger there.

 

This lamp is still a work in progress- my fingers get sore after too much wrapping!  Here’s the original pin.

We’re really enjoying the new place and are hoping more of our friends will come to visit!  You just can’t beat this every evening:

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to House Tour

  1. Nancy Clewell says:

    LOVE!!!

    Love that lamp shade idea and the tie backs for the curtains. You are soooo handy and creative!!

  2. b and says:

    My goodness, how fabulous! I am checking the casa snethen calander right now!

  3. Love your new place! It looks fabulous!

  4. Jami says:

    Wow! What a nice home! You look settled in!

  5. Nancy Kline says:

    You must feel like you are in heaven now. What a cute place! Beautiful views.

  6. Carol Crowder says:

    Absolutely breathtaking. Warm, cozy, beautiful, exquisite. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

