Happy Birthday to Me!

Thursday was my 29th birthday – the last one in the twenties! To celebrate Tony took me out to Bananakeets for a sundowner where we happened to meet Matt and Gemma. After a PK and a beautiful sunset,

20130317-163642.jpg
the two of us were off to The Sugar Mill for dinner. The Sugar Mill Hotel and Restaurant, named most romantic restaurant in the Caribbean, is just down the road from us, but this was the first time we’d had occasion to go. It really was a lovely place inside!

20130317-165606.jpg
The food was delicious too, and the service was impeccable! This is a photo of the back of the menu, so you can read about the history of The Sugar Mill.

20130317-165840.jpg
By the time dinner was over, I was full, exhausted, and ready to collapse into bed!

The good thing about having a birthday during the work week is that the celebration gets to extend on through the weekend! On Friday evening we met some friends out for dinner and Trivia Night at The Tamarind Club. Turns out, our friend Donald also has a birthday on March 14th! Here’s a picture of us both cutting the birthday cake! Notice that Tony learned from my previous trouble with spelling on cakes and didn’t have them add our names to the cake!

20130317-170322.jpg
Sunday was the final day of the celebration when I got to use my gift from Tony. Poor guy accidentally spoiled the surprise on Thursday night. He’d typed up and printed off a little “gift card” that he was going to give me at dinner. Afterward he brought the computer back to the coffee table so I could Skype my mom, setting the computer down quite deliberately and carefully. However, he forgot to close the document he was using.

20130317-170710.jpg
I was rolling!

Anyway, Tony’s gift was a 2 hour private lesson at a local pottery studio! I loved ceramics when I was in high school and have been talking about taking a lesson or two at this studio since we arrived here, and Tony finally made it happen! Even though I left the lesson very sore and tired after leaning over the potter’s wheel for two hours, I had a lot of fun!

20130317-171042.jpg
A few weeks from now I’ll be able to pick up the two bowls that I completed during my lesson!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Beth Schuurmans says:

    What a wonderful birthday week! Nice job Tony, the pottery was an excellent, thoughtful gift!! Looks like a beautiful place for your dinner too!

  2. Pam McNicoll says:

    What a GREAT birthday!! And love that it went on and on!! I know that Tony loves that, too!!!
    Beautiful restaurant – not the Cruzin’ but delicious I am sure!!
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

