End Table

About a month ago my old church was having their annual rummage sale to benefit the choir program, so Tony and I stopped in to look around. It was great to see old friends, and I was able to pick up this little gem of a side table.

20130909-214739.jpg
Needless to say, it had seen better days. However, I had a grand vision in my head! Good old Pinterest had provided me with the inspiration to combine paint and stain, so that’s what I did with this gal.

First though, I had to sand down the finish on the top.

20130909-213610.jpg
Sanding is a painfully slow process, even with Dad’s electric sander. And this was a pretty small piece… I’ve picked up some other pieces that are really going to put my endurance to the test! Anyway, it is quite rewarding to feel that smooth, bare wood under your finger tips when it’s finally done.

20130909-213803.jpg
The next step was to apply the paint design with the stencil…

20130909-213939.jpg
…And paint the base of the table. I used a primer first, then three coats of white paint, so I didn’t have to sand all those curves.

20130909-214009.jpg
Finally, the part I was waiting for: applying the stain over the paint on the top.

20130909-214136.jpg
It didn’t come out quite as dark as I’d hoped, but I’m still pretty pleased with it. Adding the clear polyacryilic sealer helped solidify the color. Here’s the finished product:

20130909-214410.jpg
Please know that this is quite literally the ONLY clean corner of our house right now… and I had to push some wall art out of the way just to get this! We’re currently in the process of packing things up and preparing to move again. It’s very exciting though to think that this will be our last move for a very long time!

This entry was posted in Furniture, Living Room and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to End Table

  1. Monica says:

    Beautiful! šŸ™‚

  2. Nancy Clewell says:

    Wow!

  3. Pam McNicoll says:

    The table is fantastic! Great job, Lindy!
    love, Mom

  4. Dad says:

    Nice job Pecos Lindy!

  5. Beth and Bob says:

    Gorgeous! Can’t wait to see it… and you!

  6. Debbie says:

    Beautiful!..and I like the part about the last move for awhile.

  7. Barbara DeJardin says:

    That is very cool! I love the stencil.

  8. Heidi says:

    I’m impressed Lindy! How in the world do you find the time? You’re amazing!

  9. Pingback: TV Tray Face Lift | A Guy, A Girl, and a Really Old House!

  10. Pingback: Tray Chic | A Guy, A Girl, and a Really Old House!

Leave a Reply

