Merry Christmas!

Ahh Christmas! It’s been so exciting to celebrate the season in our new home! It’s also been quite busy, as my store of decorations, sufficient for a small townhome, was nowhere near enough for a whole house! I’ve been busy whipping up a few things over the last few weeks, so I’d like to share a few pictures!

We don’t have a fireplace (two chimneys, no fireplace – a constant puzzle!), so the main focal point is the stair rail.

That red wall in the background is so striking already, I didn’t feel that a lot of color was needed on the railing, and I wasn’t interested in investing in greenery (and then having to store it), so I was trying to come up with something wintery and old looking, for lack of a better description, when I remembered a strand of beaded garland I’d used to hide the scratched up portion of our bathroom mirror in the townhouse. I’d always liked the combination of sparkly silver and crystal beads. I filled the space between garlands with the ribbon, then added the stars made using the directions from this link here out of tan lace and gray damask patterned scrapbook paper. The paper chain is just old sheet music that I bought at the County Library Sale. It turned out just how I wanted, except that the stars keep twisting around when I open the front door. When I add more stars next year I’ll need to be sure I use two-sided cardstock. The lazy side of me rationalizes that this decor can definitely stay up through February as the crystals look wintery! I’ll just take down the stockings.

20131225-213610.jpg

This banner will have to come down in the next few days, but I’m trying to think of another phrase to put up there, because it’s just fun! (Ignore the scaffolding in that left corner!)

20131225-122322.jpg

Some ornaments, pinecones, and origami stars added to this platter make a nice centerpiece with the table runner I made (the other side matches the curtains so I can use it the rest of the year) and this awesome tree. It was originally inspired by this post, and I just added the colored paper circles.

20131225-222352.jpg
A former student’s mom made this for me one year, and I love pulling it out.

20131225-215248.jpg
And this sofa table makes a great place for our nativity.

20131225-215350.jpg
Decorating for Christmas was definitely something I missed during our time abroad, so it’s been extra special to pull out all our Christmas ornaments! This tree holds some of my childhood ones, including my knitted baby roller skates, and all the ornaments I’ve received from students over the last eight years.

20131225-212425.jpg
This wire tree is a hand-me-down from Mom, and is a fabulous place to display antique ornaments that have been handed down in my family. There are some fillers in there as well, since I don’t have very many yet.

20131225-222504.jpg
And this is our tree! I tried and tried to get a good photo, and this was the best one I could get, but the bay windows in the living room make the perfect frame for it!

20131225-213330.jpg

I hope you all have had a blessed Christmas/Holiday season! We spent a beautiful Christmas Eve with Mom and Dad, and we’re looking forward to spending some time with the other side of the family for a few days as well!

20131225-212557.jpg

This entry was posted in Hall, Kitchen, Library, Living Room and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. Debbie says:

    Very beautiful! Merry Christmas!

  2. Barbara DeJardin says:

    Very nice, Lindy. Great job. Was your father working in the barn just before that picture was taken?

  3. Pam McNicoll says:

    Your house decor is just beautiful!! What a special Christmas- see you back in town tomorrow night!
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

