Signs of Spring

The birds are chirping in the morning and little green buds fill the trees in our yard. These welcome signs of spring are happily bringing with them warmer temperatures and brighter sunshine! Finally!

20140408-215643.jpg

So, I was inspired to create my own signs of spring using this old pallet that had carried our new bathtub when it was delivered.

20140406-171358.jpg

Figuring out how to take it apart was a chore. Finally I gave up and asked Tony to tell me how to use the jigsaw so I could just cut out the pieces I needed. He gave explicit instructions. “Plug it in. Push here for power. Cut.”

“Ok,” I said, “seems easy enough,” and I went out to cut 14 pieces. After some sanding they were ready for paint.

20140406-171657.jpg

I used my Silhouette Cameo (coolest toy ever!) to cut out some stencils and bought some bright colored paint.

20140406-171828.jpg

After painting I went over the whole thing with a quick coat of stain to bring out the rich wood color.

20140406-172333.jpg

Some holes drilled in the top and colored wired created the perfect hanging mechanism. I ended up with 11 signs in all, and it was tough to decide which one I should keep and which should go over to Simply Reinspired for selling. Unfortunately, I forgot to take photos of them all before I took them to the shop! I guess you’ll have to head over there if you want to see them at 108 W. Cedar St. in Olathe!

20140408-220408.jpg

This entry was posted in Outside, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. Nancy Clewell says:

    Simply Reinspired – I didn’t know about this spot in Olathe….hmmm….I think a visit is in my future.

    I like all of the color you used.

    • You’ll love it! It’s adorable, for one. The food is fantastic, and Debbie and Janice, the proprietors, are the sweetest women in the world. It’s like they’ve invited you over to their house for a meal. They do breakfast and lunch during the week, Thursday night fried chicken (by reservation) and Sunday Brunch on the 1st Sunday of the month (also by reservation).

  2. Pam McNicoll says:

    LOVE the signs! You did a GREAT job on ALL of them! AND really love the signs of spring!!
    Love, Mom

  3. Beth and Bob says:

    I wish I could just zip over there, I want a sign,,, I need one more than most of you, forcast here in Ole Green Bay,,,50 next three days, then high of 35-37 early next week. What the heck!!!

  4. Nancy Clewell says:

    Hey Lindy…thanks for the tutorial. I am going to make some decorations for our new library space (remodel) and am using your idea and instructions. My sister has a Cricut and made the stencils for me yesterday and I am off to experiment today. I’ll post a picture to fb when the project is completed.

Leave a Reply

