Door to Door

IMG_1696.JPG
The front hall redecoration is well under way! A few weeks ago Mom and I took down the old, gold wallpaper, confirming Tony’s suspicion that those walls are still plaster.

IMG_2090.JPG
Goodbye ugly gold!

IMG_2100.JPG
Luckily, they’re in decent shape, but not decent enough that a coat of paint will do the trick. Don’t worry! I have a plan, but it will probably be a few weeks until I’ll be able to reveal it. I’m aiming for Halloween. In the meantime, much work has continued in the hall. After the paper came down, so did the plaster on the chimney! I’ve mentioned before that we have two chimneys in this house, but both were walled in long ago. Part of the hallway makeover (and the library, for that matter) involved removing that plaster and exposing the brick. I tackled this project one day while Tony was off golfing. I’ll show you a before view. I don’t know if you can see the pattern on the walls or not… That’s the imprint of the wallpaper’s texture in the glue! Yikes! I think we’re going to have to sand it down!

IMG_1685.JPG
The first 20 minutes of plaster removal were really fun! This is how much I got down in that time.

IMG_2103.JPG
Another hour or so got me to this point:

IMG_2104.JPG
By the end of the afternoon I was exhausted, but look at that brick!

IMG_2105.JPG
But that’s not really what I set out to show you today. I’ve also been working on our doors. The back door got a coat (okay, several coats) of deep, beautiful red!

IMG_2142.JPG
The front door is now a gorgeous black that really highlights all the architectural detail.

IMG_2138.JPG
But the biggest transformation was the font hall door. We don’t know what happened to the original hall door, if there was one, but the one we have now is a hollow core, plain flat number. I’ve been meaning to do something about it for awhile and finally got around to it after seeing this blog post. Here’s the before:

IMG_2091.JPG
And here’s the now!

IMG_2141.JPG
So much better! It’s the little details that really make a room, and now this door looks just as old and beautiful as the others in the house.

Anyway, the other news about doors is that we’ve opened our door to a new family member! Meet Charlie. He’s 7 months old and a whopping 50 pounds!

IMG_1697.JPG
Just days after we brought him home from the shelter, Charlie came down with kennel cough. I woke up early on Sunday morning to him coughing and gagging, and he was really sick all day. He even had a fever… at least we think he did. I wasn’t sticking the thermometer up there to check. The poor guy just wanted some love and crawled right onto my lap when I sat down to comfort him. I promise, this dog does get up and walk around! In fact, he’s quite energetic now that he’s healthy again! But it’s much easier to snap photos when he’s lounging.

IMG_1698.JPG Needless to say, this little big guy has completely stolen our hearts!

This entry was posted in Hall, Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Door to Door

  1. Pam McNicoll says:

    The house just keeps getting better and better! So beautiful and comfortable!
    And Charlie is beyond precious – he makes me laugh everyday!
    Love all 3 of you.
    Mom

  2. That exposed brick looks really nice! (and the dog is adorable)

Leave a Reply

