Stairs with a Message

Part of the front hallway makeover (It truly is almost done, and has been for weeks. All that’s left to finish is the trim!) included work on the stairs. The work needed here was minimal. Well, if you want to be technical, a few of the stairs lean to the left and the newel post at the bottom needs resetting… So let me rephrase. As the stairs are structurally sound despite the two things listed above, the work I was planning to do to the stairs was minimal! There was some recaulking needed around some of the decorative trim pieces, and I wanted to hide a crack in the wall on your way up, but mostly the stair rises needed a bit of a facelift. I know. Stair risers? Really? Does anyone even notice those? Well, these stairs have seen some serious action in their however many years of service! And the risers are where you really see it. They had scuffs, scratches, and chips gouged out of them. And I swear, they have been staring me in the face for months, saying, “Bring it on!”

IMG_2295.JPG

A fresh coat of paint made a big difference, but it couldn’t hide the big chunks that were missing. The picture above was actually taken after the paint was applied. I toyed around with the idea of refacing them with textured wallpaper. I’ve seen pictures on Pinterest that look awesome, but the test pieces I put up were destroyed within a few days. Our stairs are just too narrow, and dear Tony’s feet are just too big! So I went with another Pinterest idea that I hoped would draw the focus: words on the stairs.

Designing and applying the decals took just a few hours. In fact, I did nearly all the work on Thanksgiving morning before we went to Mom and Dad’s for the day! The hard part was figuring out what I wanted the stairs to say. After much searching, I stumbled on this quote attributed to Mark Twain:
“Life is short. Break the rules, forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, and never regret anything that makes you smile.” I was a little leery at first. I mean, I’m not much of a rule breaker. Tony is though, and every time he goes upstairs he’s going to read this message! (He actually said something to the effect of, “Are you sure you want me to read this everyday?” : ) I considered altering them or looking for another idea all together. In the end though, I just kept coming back to that quote. And if they really are Mark’s words, who am I to alter them?

IMG_1724.JPG

So, here they are! Because of the curve at the bottom, I can’t get back far enough to get them all in at once, so here’s the bottom half.

IMG_2286.JPG

Did you see the little blip of fabric-covered wall on that second to last picture? It is AWESOME! I can’t wait to show it to you!

This entry was posted in Hall and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stairs with a Message

  1. olsonrobin says:

    LOL! Love it! Hmmm do the confirmation kids know this about Tony?;)

  2. Marianne says:

    Hi Lindy
    Love the house and what you have done with it!
    I hope things are well. Can you email me please?
    Marianne Rajic

Leave a Reply

