Happy Halloween! 


I’m a big fan of homemade Halloween costumes. Its sort of a requirement for a DIYer. So, I spent months wracking my brain, and Pinterest, for a cool costume idea for EO and me. He won’t be trick-or-treating this year, but I wanted to take him to school for the costume parade! 

The top costume contenders were Winnie the Pooh and Piglet (but I didn’t buy the Pooh onesie early enough) or a couple of bumble bees. I wanted something we’d both be comfortable in, and something EO could wear in the stroller, which ruled out the really adorable dragon and scuba diver costumes. In the end, I kept coming back to this Pin of an octopus made from women’s socks. I found some polka dot and striped socks that perfectly matched a onesie that EO already had – decision made! And to make it a coordinated costume, I would be a coral reef!

I followed this woman’s tutorial exactly, with just one modification – instead of stuffing, I used old plastic shopping bags. I’m not even kidding. I just stretched out 4-5 old plastic bags and shoved them into the socks. They make a little crinkly noise when you move them, which EO loves, and it was one less item to purchase! 


I just used pinking shears to cut the leggings, and I left some of the foot of the sock so they would cover most of his feet. I did have to sew the sock legs though, so they could just slide onto the elastic and remain repositionable. 

My costume is just a men’s tshirt with a coral reef painted on it. It had to be easy to put on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Halloween! 

  1. Nancy Clewell says:

    LOVE!!!

  2. Pam McNicoll says:

    Adorable!!!

  3. kelleysdiy says:

    What a beautiful little baby!!!

Leave a Reply

